Highlights From Our Christmas Party

On Tuesday, 1 December 2015 the Wilson County Master Gardener Association met at the James E Ward Agricultural Center in Lebanon. In addition to a huge, beautiful, and delicious meal, we elected a new president, David Vowell, and a new treasurer, Jan Harms. Thank you, David and Jan for stepping up and taking the reins for the next two years.

wcmg_meeting-20151201-DSCN5790Yet another intern from the 2014 class here in Wilson County received his certification and Certified Master Gardener badge. Congratulations and thank you, Bill Brooks. Your hard work and dedication to our Master Gardener program and your community are very much appreciated. Pictured at left are UT Extension Agent Justin Stefanski, Certification Officer Greg Tomerlin and Certified Master Gardener Bill Brooks.

wcmg_meeting-20151201-DSCN5788We also had Gold Lifetime Master Gardener badges for four of our members: Sondra Bishop, Laurie Hobby, Francine Lustre and Beth Wallis. Pictured at right is Lifetime Master Gardener Sondra Bishop who just two hours earlier returned from a trip to New Mexico. Congratulations and thank you, Sondra, Laurie, Francine and Beth.

Moreover, 22 of our Master Gardeners contributed over 100 volunteer hours each this past year. They were: Sue Allen, Roy Atkinson, David Bates, Lynn Becker, Susie Butler, Norma Dee, Jan Harms, Jan Littrell, Barbara Martinez, Flo Moore, Lawana Nelson, Jil Norman, Marianne Pelletier, Donna Samuels, Laleta Shipper, Fran Strasburg, Patti Stein, Greg Tomerlin, David Vowell, Carol Walenga, Jan Whitaker and Whit Whitaker. Pictured below are the 16 Gold Leaf Pin and certificate recipients who were in attendance.


And last but not least, Carol Walenga and Jan Littrell were recognized for their outstanding service and dedication to the Wilson County Master Gardener Association and the community. Carol received the Master Gardener of the Year award for her tireless work and success this year in achieving the Certified Arboretum status from the Tennessee Urban Forestry Counsel for our Baddour Parkway Arboretum. Jan received the President’s Award for her dedication and hard work in the Community Garden at Charlie Daniels Park and for providing fresh produce from the garden to the Wilson County Sheriff’s office SCAN program. Thank you Carol Walenga and Jan Littrell. Pictured below are the three crazy tree ladies, Flo Moore, Carol Walenga, Sandy Oxford and Jan Littrell.



About Greg

I enjoy chess, amateur radio, gardening, beekeeping, birding, and being outdoors.
This entry was posted in Announcement. Bookmark the permalink.